top of page

Love In The Eyes Of Someone Who Hasn't Found It


It's as if everyone has it. Everyone has found it, invested in it, and if they haven’t already, they are preparing to seal it. Forever.

I imagine it being a sense of security. A pleasantly, promising safety net that is there waiting for you at the end of every long day.

I see it all the time. I see it on the screen of my phone, I see it while I’m driving, I even see it in my dreams. Its all around me but never for me.

It makes the cold days warmer, and the dark days brighter. Its the closeness that is with you before you close your eyes each night.

It the eyes staring back at you over your coffee mug in the morning. Its the toothbrush sitting right beside yours on the sink.

When it gets ugly and challenging, there is always a shoulder to lean on, even when you feel hostility to that same shoulder.

It's the voice trying to find reason in a seemingly never-ending argument.

It gets louder. It begins to hurt. The words flooding your eardrums are not making sense and the room begins to feel as if its spinning out of control.

You want it to stop but you cant stop. You wont.

Until..

The aching in your heart and the stinging in your eyes over power the rage in your mind and you realize that you will choose defeat over losing the one thing that makes you whole.

Because its unconditional. Love, I mean.

If its true, it wont leave you when you mess up.

It wont kick you when you’re already down.

It wont want to hurt you anymore than you have already hurt yourself.

It will fight for you when you are too weak to fight.

It will lift you up and help you to fly. Even if it has to be your wings for a little while.

It will teach you how to forgive yourself.

It will be there.

It will always be there.

Forever.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page